It’s nearly election time here on campus. Voting begins Monday for the student government candidates with positions on the ballot including President, Vice President, and a number of student senators. Running mates on one ticket are Kennedy Montgomery and Khalil Anthony and on the other ticket Yolian Ogbu and Hillary Shah.

Montgomery and Anthony run on a platform of “UNITY, intentional diversity, focused versatility, purposeful student engagement, and community upliftment. Unity not only means they want students to be unified, it also is an acronym that stands for some things they find important: Understanding, New ideas, Inclusivity, Transparency, and You. Montgomery and Anthony believe every student has a special talent, gift, skill, or ability and deserves equal opportunity.

Ogbu and Shah run on a platform to increase student wages to $15 per hour, designate more gender neutral restrooms on campus, and an increase in the lighting around campus. Ogbu and Shah said, “Overall we want this university to better serve all students’ needs. It’s time that UNT reflects this, reflects you, and reflects us.” They plan to do this by promoting equity and campus climate, interpersonal violence prevention, and community engagement.

Voting is done through OrgSync and begins Monday April 8 at 8 p.m. and ends Wednesday April 10 at 5 p.m.

#SGA #yourdecision #2019 #2016election #unt #universityofnorthtexas #studentgovernmentassociation #CassieLarsen

36 views0 comments