UNT Media Arts Students collect eight Student Production Lone Star Emmy Nominations

DENTON, Texas (UNT)- The University of North Texas’ student- cable television station, ntTV, has received eight Student Production Lone Star Emmy nominations.

UNT Media Arts students were recognized in four categories:


  • Nightly News Wednesday March 29,2017. Jaci Mask, News Director. Quinn Arrington, Assistant News Director. Blake Holland, News Content Coordinator.


  • Stop Suicide. Daniela Ibarra, Reporter.

  • UNT Tactical Shelters. Drake Lawson, Reporter.


  • The Pilots Behind Challenge Air. Quinn Arrington, Reporter.

  • Weldon’s Saddle Shop & Western Wear. Blake Holland, Reporter.


  • Blake Holland Weather Anchor. Blake Holland, Talent.

  • Drake Lawson Talent Reel. Drake Lawson, Talent.

  • Jonathan Maniet Talent Reel. Jonathan Maniet, Graphic Designer.

Phyllis Slocum, principal lecturer and station manager of ntTV, is not only proud of her students’ work but also their dedication to becoming professionals.

“This public recognition underscores the quality of our students, their commitment and dedication as they focus on becoming media professionals,” Slocum said. “This is the result of the work of many students working in all areas of the television station creating an atmosphere of professional excellence.”

The award ceremony will be held November 11th in San Antonio, Texas.

The Lone Star Chapter, based in Dallas, is part of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and meets annually. The chapter, founded in 2002, is a key portal for connecting professionals and students in Texas' television broadcast-related fields and promoting student engagement and career development. The chapter affiliates are dedicated to encouraging and distinguishing high levels of professional achievement through the Lone Star Emmy® Awards.

The Lone Star Emmy® Chapter accepts nominations from 19 television markets in Texas and includes professionals from TV-related fields including news and non-news broadcasting; production; post production; education; advertising; and public relations. The category for Best Student Production recognizes work from university and college television stations. ntTV has won more than 30 Student production awards from the Lone Star Emmy® chapter in 14 years.

Launched as a cable channel in 1989, ntTV has grown into a top student-run TV station in Texas. The station provides programming 24 hours a day and seven days a week on Charter Communications channel 192 and Frontier FiOS channel 46.

#LoneStarEmmys #UNT #MediaArts #UNTMediaArts #StudentProduction

238 views0 comments